Delete/Deprecate "Course Announcement Date" course setting

Description

This was found while the Publisher Squad was doing some investigation around Studio date settings.

This field is a duplicate of the Course Metadata CourseRun announcement field (which is automatically set on publish). We don’t believe the Studio version is used for anything [1]. It doesn’t seem to be in sync with the automatically set announcement field in Discovery.

Ideally the field would be deleted (it’s really not used for anything), but if that’s socially or technically difficult, marking the field as deprecated in studio might be a good backup plan.

ACs

  1. Delete the Course Announcement Date advanced settings field [2].

  2. Mention to PCs that you’re doing the above, just as an FYI. Gerrit might also be curious, but only because he’s been involved in some discussions around us not using this anymore.

  3. Delete the data in the model behind these fields too?

[1] Search for “Course Announcement Date” in slack - I’ve got a few threads on it.

[2] https://studio.stage.edx.org/settings/details/UPValenciaX/DC201x/2T2015 for an example

Steps to Reproduce

None

Status

Story Points

None

Assignee

Unassigned

Reporter

Michael Terry

Labels

Reach

None

Impact

None

Customer

None

Partner Manager

None

URL

None

Contributor Name

None

Groups with Read-Only Access

None

Actual Points

None

Category of Work

None

Stakeholders

None

Priority

Unset