After deleting my account, I still show up as logged in on the edX home page (edx.org)

Description

ISSUE
I deleted my edX account with the deletion modal. When I navigate to www.edx.org, my deleted account is still displayed in the top-right corner drop-down menu.

REPRODUCTION STEPS
Create an account, delete it, and navigate to www.edx.org.

The attached screenshot shows where the home page displays the deleted account as logged in.

Implementation Details

  • Delete cookie before redirecting back to the home page.

Steps to Reproduce

None

Current Behavior

None

Expected Behavior

None

Reason for Variance

None

Release Notes

None

User Impact Summary

None

Activity

Show:
Alasdair Swan
May 8, 2018, 5:34 PM

the user cookie needs to be deleted to log the user out.

Olga Stroilova
May 8, 2018, 5:39 PM

Which team would this fall on? Thanks for the suggestion.

I would say this is good to get in if easy, but not a blocker to first release.

Olga Stroilova
May 10, 2018, 3:26 PM

Let's get our proposal on this ticket. P2 for now

cc

Jae Bradley
May 15, 2018, 5:04 PM

I was able to repro this. After deleting account on stage, go to stage.edx.org in same browser tab and username / info will be displayed (though going to the account link, for example, redirects to the login page). This is because we do need to delete the edxloggedin and stage-edx-user-info cookies - the act of retiring the user only removes the session information.

Jae Bradley
May 16, 2018, 7:30 PM

I tested this on stage and no longer saw my login username after redirection - , can you confirm?

Fixed

Assignee

Jae Bradley

Reporter

Alessandro Roux

Reach

None

Impact

None

Platform Area

Archived Product Areas - LMS

Customer

None

Partner Manager

None

URL

None

Contributor Name

None

Groups with Read-Only Access

None

Actual Points

None

Category of Work

None

Platform Map Area (Levels 1 & 2)

None

Platform Map Area (Levels 3 & 4)

None

Story Points

2

Sprint

None

Priority

CAT-3
Configure